END PLASTIC SOUP

Kyaka II

 

The settlement Kyaka II was established in the year 2005 as a successor organization to Kyaka I, which accommodated the population fleeing from the 1994 Rwanda genocide. Currently, around 120,000 people reside in Kyaka II. Improper waste disposal and the resulting environmental pollution pose significant problems for both the environment and the health of the people. Here, we aim to provide a remedy.

Abfallberg

 

Together with the local Rotary Club, the RC of Kampala South, we are supporting the establishment of a project for proper waste management in the refugee camp Kyaka II with knowledge, resources, and financial means.

 

From a one-time fundraising event to a long-term community service project.

 

Originally intended as immediate pandemic relief, a mask and hygiene item donation campaign by RC Kampala South evolved into a broad collaboration with the refugee camp. Assistance is urgently needed in practically all Rotary focus areas. One of the most glaring issues is the lack of waste management. However, the goal isn't just to warn about health and environmental hazards and provide education. The accumulated waste is also an economic resource if utilized effectively. This is precisely where the work of RC Kampala South, supported by Mare Nostrum, comes into play: By convincing the four local communities that collecting, sorting, and reselling waste can be a source of income, it's possible to achieve a degree of financial independence for up to 1,000 people.

Plastikabfall Kyaka

 

Mare Nostrum primarily supports Rotary in Kyaka II financially to facilitate the establishment of waste management infrastructure within the camp. Additionally, we engage directly with local Rotarians in personal exchanges and provide them with expertise and know-how.


Latest News: Together with RC Kampala South, Mare Nostrum submitted a Global Grant application in the summer of 2023.

We are now eagerly awaiting your response. With the combined strength of Rotary, it is possible to not only recognize the issue of waste accumulation in the camp but also to address it professionally. The plastic waste heaps present both risks and opportunities. Mare Nostrum makes a substantial contribution to empower the refugee community in Kyaka II to mitigate one and harness the other.

Support us with your membership and donation

For more information:

END PLASTIC SOUP

Kyaka II

Die Siedlung Kyaka II wurde im Jahre 2005 als Nachfolgerorganisation von Kyaka I errichtet, welche die aus dem Ruanda-Genozid von 1994 geflüchtete Bevölkerung aufnahm. In Kyaka II leben derzeit rund 120.000 Menschen. Die unsachgemässe Abfallentsorgung und die  daraus entstehende Vermüllung der Umwelt führt zu grossen Problemen für die Umwelt, aber auch für die Gesundheit der Menschen. Hier wollen wir Abhilfe schaffen.

Abfallberg

Gemeinsam mit dem Rotary Club vor Ort, dem RC of Kampala South, unterstützen wir den Aufbau eines Projektes zum sachgerechten Müllmanagement im Flüchtlingskamp Kyaka II mit Wissen, Ressourcen und finanziellen Mitteln. 

Von der einmaligen Spendenaktion zum langfristigen Gemeindienstprojekt

Ursprünglich als Soforthilfe zur Pandemiebekämpfung gedacht, entwickelte sich eine Masken- und Hygieneartikel-Spendenaktion des RC Kampala South zu einer breit aufgestellten Zusammenarbeit mit dem Flüchtlingscamp. In praktisch allen Rotarischen Schwerpunktbereichen ist dringend Hilfe nötig. Eines der augenfälligsten Probleme stellt sicher das nicht vorhandene Müll-Management dar. Hier geht es jedoch nicht nur darum, vor den Gefahren für Gesundheit und Umwelt zu warnen und Aufklärungsarbeit zu leisten. Der angesammelte Müll ist auch eine wirtschaftliche Ressource. Wenn man diese zu nutzen weiss. Genau hier setzt die Arbeit des RC Kampala South an, die wir mit Mare Nostrum unterstützen: Wenn es gelingt, die vier örtlichen Cummunities davon zu überzeugen, dass das Sammeln, Sortieren und Weiterverkaufen des Abfalls eine Einkommensquelle darstellt, ist es möglich, für bis zu 1000 Menschen eine gewisse finanzielle Unabhängigkeit zu erreichen.

Plastikabfall Kyaka

Mare Nostrum unterstützt Rotary in Kyaka II in erster Linie finanziell, damit im Camp eine Infrastruktur für das Müll-Management aufgebaut werden kann. Weiters sind wir im direkten, persönlichen Austausch mit den Rotariern vor Ort und stellen ihnen Know-How zur Verfügung. Wir unterstützen sie auch beim Einreichen eines Global Grants.

So kann es gelingen, dass das Problem der Vermüllung im Camp nicht nur erkannt, sondern auch professionell aufgearbeitet wird. Die Plastikmüllhalden bergen sowohl Risiken also auch Chancen. Mare Nostrum leistet einen substanziellen Beitrag dazu, dass die Flüchtlingscommunity in Kyaka II aus eigener Kraft das Eine begrenzen und das Andere nützen kann.

Unterstützen Sie uns mit Ihrer Mitgliedschaft und Ihrer Spende

Weitere Infos: